Tags

, , , , , ,

I actually used a holiday gift card to purchase the Urban Decay Naked Basics eye shadow palette back in January. I didn’t actually use it for a few weeks after I purchased it since I was really enjoying my other eye shadows at the time. This  reinforced the fact that I didn’t really need this new palette since I have so many other neutral shades in my eye shadow stash. Since I already have the Urban Decay Naked Palette as well as the Naked 2, I just couldn’t pass up yet another collection of neutral shades of shadow since 90% of the shadow I wear is neutral…

UD Naked Basics

I love the exterior packaging which is a rubbery plastic. I don’t believe that this rubbery texture will attract a lot of makeup grime like the NARS packaging does though. Like the Naked and Naked 2 palettes there is a large mirror inside which is perfect for travel if you happen to be without a mirror. Now, on to the eye shadows themselves. So far the look that I have been creating with this palette is applying a wash of “Venus” or “W.O.S” over my lid and brow bone and “Faint” in the crease. I have been using “Naked 2” on my lower lash line and a bit of “Crave” to set my black eyeliner. Going from day to night is definitely possible with this cute little palette since you have a good range of your basic light to dark neutrals. I love the fact that these colors are matte except for “Venus” which has the slightest bit of shimmer. If I ever want a “no eye shadow”  look or simply just need something very natural I reach for this palette. One thing I did notice that is a bit of a downer is that all of the colors to the left of “Faint” seem to be not as pigmented as I would like. I guess that if you want to accomplish the natural look, shadows more on the sheer side are the way to go. All in all, this is a very nice little palette, but if I had to choose, I would most likely still pick Naked and Naked 2 over this one.

54489-354-25E04F388E013301ED52D9A9E476542B

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2013

