Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_2470

With 2013 in full swing, I have made a goal to be a real tightwad this year. Last year I was adopting good habits in regards to saving money but have decided that 2013 has to be the year that the tightwad factor will be exercised to it’s full potential. Let me explain…

As much as I love to shop, I really don’t spend that much money. As much as I love to eat and drink coffee, I don’t spend that much money on food or coffee either. This doesn’t mean that I don’t want to, I could very easily go out shopping and spend an arm and a leg. I could also spend another arm and a leg on eating out. Thank goodness I have excellent self control, otherwise I could wind up in big trouble with overspending!

The reason why I am all the more motivated now to pinch my pennies is because I will be getting married and moving later this year. I love the feeling of being a brat (or shall I say smart) in regards to what I spend money on. For instance, I was out today and wanted some sushi so I went to Whole Foods. Instead of spending around 7 or 8 dollars on a sushi roll which contained shrimp and veggies, I chose the avocado cucumber roll which was only around 5 dollars and equally scrumptious! Simple little tweaks like this definitely add up over time. One thing that I have decided to give up for 2013 is high end shampoo and conditioner. I no longer am using sulfate free shampoo since I’m letting my hair color fade at the moment. I know that my hair can look just as good and smell just as amazing if not better if I use drug store shampoos and conditioners. Instead of spending 40 dollars for a bottle of shampoo and conditioner I can spend only about 8 on a drugstore brand. This can backfire if you go too low end though. You do get what you pay for most of the time I believe. For example, I was blown away when I found this a couple months ago…

IMG_2263

I was so excited when I saw this shampoo and conditioner! I used this stuff all the time when I was around 11 and 12. It has the most wonderful apple scent which brought me back to childhood when I took a whiff in the store. I snagged some and used it the next morning. Let me tell you, it was a major failure. The apple smell was there but the consistency of the shampoo was like squeezing raw egg whites out of the bottle. The foam factor was bad and worst of all it made my hair DRY and flat. They must have changed their formulation because I never had this problem when I used to use it all the time when I was younger. I now use it to shave my legs.

I stepped up a few levels and recently purchased some Herbal essences and Garnier Fructis shampoo and conditioner. I haven’t used these brands in years! They both smell great and have fantastic lather. I feel like they really do clean my hair well. I love the fact that I’m saving money and still ending up with clean yummy smelling hair. Score.

So in a nutshell, I will continue to report on how I have been utilizing my OTW (operation tightwad) way of life for the year. Saving money in general is always a good habit to get into. No matter how small or large your income, saving your extra change or a dollar here and there will really add up!

54489-354-25E04F388E013301ED52D9A9E476542B

 

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2013

