Tags

, , , , , ,

  Back during the summer I was on the hunt for some good foundations that would not end up looking slimy and oily by the end of the day. Since my skin is oily and we all sweat more during the hot summer days I wanted something lightweight that  still provided good coverage. I ended up falling in love with the Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream as well as the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse foundation. I preferred to use these during the day while outside and running errands.

I do like to have a basic medium coverage foundation to wear while I spend more time indoors during the week. I still get a bit oily even while indoors all day so when I saw the Neutrogena Shine Control Makeup I was immediatley interested! Before I bought it, I read some reviews and heard more negatives than positives which was a bit disappointing. People said that the “rice protein complex” which this foundation contains, felt grainy against the skin almost like applying sand.  Others said that the coverage was way too sheer and you have to pile it on to achieve a good amount of coverage.

Even after seeing these negative reviews I still wanted to try it for myself. One of my biggest driving forces to buy this product was it’s relation to the Neutrogena Healthy Skin foundation which people tend to love and compare to Nars Sheer Glow. So, without further ado, I will share with you my thoughts…

First off, I really like the clean and classic look of the packaging. The shade range is rather small but I was able to match myself pretty much perfectly to “Nude 40”. For reference I’m an NC25 in MAC. The foundation itself smells a bit like paint, but it’s not very strong so I don’t even notice it when applying. Now one thing that is a bit of a problem is the thickness. You can hold the bottle upside down without the cap and nothing will come out. It’s that thick. I’m wondering what will happen when there is only about 1/4 left at the bottom of the bottle. I’m thinking I will just have to store it upside down and then smack it against my hand to get the rest out of the bottle. That will be interesting. As for the graininess factor, I don’t really notice it that much. It’s not a deal breaker for me. The makeup does blend well and is quite light in coverage. I’ve tried to build it up a bit but it ends up looking cakey so I wouldn’t say it’s a buildable foundation.  I love the fact that it has SPF 20 which is a definite plus in my book. I have noticed that my nose looks a little oily throughout the day so the shine control factor may be a bit weak. All in all I think this is an average drugstore foundation which I personally don’t think is worth the $13.99 price tag. I would probably slap a $6.00 price tag on it and call it a day.

So in short, I will not be buying this foundation again once it’s gone, that is if I can manage to extract it all out of the bottle since its so thick. The onlys thing I like about it is the fact that it has SPF 20, nice packaging and does help somewhat with the shine. Other than those things it’s just average. I say that if you are an oily person like me and it’s summer or you live in a humid place, give it a shot. If you are a normal to dry skinned person, it’s winter or you live in a dry climate, skip it!

Have you tried this foundation?

