Tags

, , , , , ,

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f Eyebrow Kit-Dark, Maybelline-Small Angle Brush

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit-Dark, Maybelline-Small Angle Brush

I have been rotating between MAC “Brun” and “Coquette” to fill in my over plucked eyebrows for the past 7 years. I like the natural look that you achieve with eyeshadows when filling in the brows. I have seen some other women online who really enjoy the e.l.f. Eyebrow kit and decided that for only $3.00 it wouldn’t be a major loss if it didn’t work. Target only seems to carry the medium shade and I was on the hunt for the dark one so I ended up ordering it online. I have always loved the e.l.f. studio line packaging so of course that was an extra key point that sold me on this product.

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f Eyebrow Kit-Dark

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit-Dark

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f Eyebrow Kit-Dark

MAC- Coquette, e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit-Dark

The compact comes with wax on the left and powder on the right. Usually I avoid brushes that come with cosmetics but have been using the angled end of the dual sided brush that comes with this kit. The angled end is used for the wax and the fluffier end of the brush is for the powder. I have my own small angled brush that I use for the shadow which I use on top of the wax application to set it. I’ve run into some issues finding a good shade of wax, shadows, ect..that are a good match for my brows since they are cool toned and almost black. Browns look to warm and plain black is a little too dark. The wax in this kit is borderline too warm toned but once I apply MAC Brun or Coquette on top to set it the warm toned brown isn’t as intense. The powder in this kit is HORRIBLE. It’s way too light and almost orange/ brown. I used it once and threw in the towel immediately since it was a complete disaster. Like I mentioned before, this palette is only $3.00 so it’s no big loss. I have been using the wax daily to fill in the gaps and shape my brows and my MAC shadow to set the wax. I enjoy how the little angled brush that comes with the kit makes the lines you draw with the wax so precise and controlled. Sometimes if I only use shadow it almost appears to bleed outside the parameter of my brows but the wax keeps everything in place which is nice.

I love the price of this kit, cute packaging, brush and the wax. The powder is a big no-go for me but it may work for you! If you are looking for an eyebrow kit that is   inexpensive and fills in those annoying brow gaps or just need a little more definition,  I would recommend this little kit!

 

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

