Tags

, , , , ,

I love chunky jewelry, chunky hardware on handbags, even chunky babies…but chunky mascara brushes and tubes? Yes! I definitely jumped on the bandwagon a few years ago when brands like Covergirl and Maybelline started coming out with all of these cute, colorful tubes of mascara with varying degrees of chubby brushes.  I’m a sucker for packaging and I’m drawn to the bright colors and cute appeal of the tubes themselves. All of these mascaras promise long, thick luscious lashes as most mascaras do, but apparently the secret is in the mammoth brush.

I saw a commercial for Maybelline The Mega Plush Volum’ Express mascara and was interested in the “gel mousse formulation”. I do notice that sometimes my mascara can get a bit dry towards the end of the day and flake off onto my cheeks and then smear if I rub it. This really isn’t a huge problem since it doesn’t happen all of that often but why not something that will prevent it?

Even though I still had plenty of my L’Oreal Telescopic (best mascara ever) I had to buy a tube of the Mega Plush to try it out! I rarely ever keep more than one tube of mascara around but I figured, what the heck. I have been using this since the beginning of July and really do like it. I don’t notice any benefit to the “flexor brush” (see packaging) but do like the fact that the mascara doesn’t get dry and brittle toward the end of the day so the gel mousse apparently is doing the trick. The length and thickness seems to be pretty much the same as with the other chubby tubes/brushes that I have used but that all comes down to what kind of eye lashes you have naturally. I believe you really have to try a mascara for yourself to see how it works for you. I love the idea of the chubby brush but honestly I think it may work better for women that have naturally thick lashes to begin with since there is more for the brush to grip onto. I prefer the little skinny brush that the L’Oreal Telescopic has since it coats even the tiniest of lashes and it’s so much easier to get in all of the little nooks of crannies and thoroughly coat all of the lashes. The big chunky brushes miss many of the smaller lashes. Big brush doesn’t necessarily equal big lashes in my book. Like I said, if you are blessed with thick lashes to begin with I think chunky brushes would work very well for you!

All in all I do really like this mascara and will continue to try out other big colorful tubes but so far, nothing has made me stray from my L’Oreal Telescopic!

 

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

