Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve always heard about Mary Kay cosmetics for as long as I can remember but have never used any of their products. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve heard any jabber within the online beauty community from younger women in regards to this brand. I tend to hear about Mary Kay quite often from more mature women though!

While out for coffee with a friend the other day, she ended up giving me some Mary Kay samples from her mom…

The lip gloss is called “Almond Glaze” and the blush is “Nutmeg”. I really like the natural matte look that the blush gives. It’s one of those blushes that you can just slap on in a hurry and it looks natural. Some days you just don’t feel like having any shimmer in your makeup.

My friend was actually wearing the same lip gloss that day and I had noticed how nice it looked before she had even told me what it was or given me the samples. Her skin tone is darker than mine so the gloss looked like a sheer shimmery brown on her lips. I was hoping the color would look similar on me but it actually ended up looking more reddish brown. My skin is a NC 25 (MAC) and my lips are naturally pretty pigmented so that explains the color transformation of the gloss on my lips. Otherwise, it’s a very pretty color and actually smells like Play Doh which is strange and wonderful at the same time! One of the first things I thought of while wearing this gloss is that it reminds me quite a bit of the Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in “Brown Sugar” which I LOVE…

I’ve really been enjoying these samples and want to thank my friend for giving them to me! I’m a huge fan of all shades of brown when it comes to makeup so these are perfect. I know I will get a lot of wear out of them this summer!

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

