Tags

,

LUSH Creamed Almond & Coconut Smoothie

LUSH Creamed Almond & Coconut Smoothie

I have never purchased any products by LUSH but have seen how people become addicted to all of their handmade soaps, bath bombs, shampoos..ect. When you walk into LUSH, you feel like a kid in a candy store. Many of their products actually do look like candy. I know I will end up with some of their bar soaps at some point, but have been excited to try out their shower “smoothies”. The concept of having the body wash in a cute little jar/tub is appealing to me hence my desire to try them out.

I love almond and I love coconut so it only seemed appropriate that I try out the Almond and Coconut Smoothie. I picked up a sample and have used it a few times so far. LUSH is a bit pricey so I was hoping the product would justify it’s $19.95 price tag. The smoothie has a subtle scent which actually doesn’t smell like coconut or almond. It smells creamy and sweet like ice cream, at least to me. I have heard other people say it lacks the scent of almond or coconut as well so I guess I’m not the only one who has made this observation. The LUSH website states the shower smoothie has almond oil, coconut oil, jasmine, ylang ylang and vanilla in it.  The best way to use this product is to scoop it out of the jar with your fingers and rub it all over your body to wash yourself. No loofah required. The consistency and lack of suds would not work well with a washcloth or loofah. Once I had rubbed the smoothie all over I could tell that it was definitely moisturizing and would be perfect in the dead of winter when dry skin is at it’s peak. I usually like to see lots of suds while in the shower because it makes me feel like I’m getting clean so not seeing any foam made me question if it was actually doing it’s job. I smelled nice after the shower and my skin was soft and silky so I guess it worked! It would be interesting to see how long the full 8.8 ounce jar would last since I went in for about 3 teaspoon size scoops of product while in the shower. Again, the lack of suds is what prompted me to dip back into my sample jar for more.

In a nutshell, I like this shower smoothie. Would I spend $19.95 on a jar of it? Maybe. I like the concept. The fact that it’s by LUSH and the packaging and product are not your run of the mill shower gel or soap plus the other fact that it’s so moisturizing would probably be the key factors that sell me eventually. I definately want to grab some more samples of LUSH products next time I’m in the store!

What are your favorite LUSH products?

