Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not supposed to be buying any makeup unless it’s an item that I need. I got this item from Ulta with one of their rewards vouchers that they send if you spend a certain amount of money shopping at Ulta. It was free so it’s OK right?!  I decided that one of these new eye shadow quads by Revlon looked the most appealing out of the options I had. The quad that stood out the most to me was “Decadent”.

I liked the look of the champagne shimmery pink tones, mid-shade orange/gold and dark plummy brown. Since I have turquoise eyes, I knew that these shades would compliment them well.

The color combinations and choices you have with these new quads are great! I had to stand there in front of the display for awhile to decide which one I wanted. I recently read  in a magazine, and unfortunately I can’t remember which one, that when designing this product, Revlon took into consideration which shades you would use the most thus giving you more of those specific colors. This makes sense since usually we end up using more of the all over lid color vs. the darker shades for the crease or outer “v” of our eyes.

This quad in terms of quality is comparable to the Almay Intense i-Color trio eye shadows I have found. The pigmentation is not as good as a higher end shadow, but not at all chalky or flaky like some lower end shadows. Depending on which eye shadow primer you use, the pigmentation can be altered. For instance, when I have worn Urban Decay Primer Potion or Too Faced Shadow Insurance, the consistency of the primers makes for a more sheer and harder to blend application of shadow. When I bust out my ole’ trusty and well loved MAC Paint Pot in “Bare Study” the shadows apply much more smooth and pigmented.

I have enough eye shadow so I won’t be buying any more of these, but I would love to hear your thoughts if you own any of these new quads!

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

