Tags

, , ,

I was talking to a girl at the NARS counter at Nordstrom recently and we got on the topic of eyeshadow primer. She said that I should try their “Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base” and that it’s so wonderful that the other makeup counter employees use it instead of their own products. Interesting.

As you can see from the image I have here, the bottle is similar to that of a lipgloss. The girl attempted to extract as much of the primer as possible into a little plastic sample jar for me. It was a difficult task and she was only able to dig out 1 to 2 days worth of product. The primer ended up being rather dry when I tried it the next day and I thought, wow, this stuff is NOT good.

I made a trip to Sephora a few days later and asked for another sample. This girl was able to dig more out of the product for me. I have heard nothing but fantastic reviews on this primer and since I’ve been using the same few eyeshadow bases for the past few years, I think it’s time to branch out!

I have worn this primer the last few days and love how creamy and smooth it is upon application to the eyelid and brow bone. It dries immediately after applied and is transparent in color on the eye. The only thing that is slightly negative in my opinion is the fact that it’s SUCH a good primer that when you are applying your eyeshadow, it can be a bit tough to blend since the primer locks the color into place. All you really need to do though is just spend a little extra time blending and eventually your shadow will look fine. Otherwise, this stuff LASTS ALL DAY! There is absolutely no creasing or alteration of shadow color. This is truly a great product. I know eventually you may have to take a knife to the bottle and cut it open to get every last bit out, but it can’t possibly be as bad as the Urban Decay Primer Potion bottle which has all sorts of nooks and crannies.

I do recommend this primer because I love NARS and secondly is DOES keep your eyeshadow in place all day. It’s just not going to budge.

