Tags

, , , , , ,

I had a slight splurge day in regards to purchasing a few new goodies. I went to an Aveda salon and had a much needed hair trim to clean up the ends and fix up my layers. I’m in love with the smell of Aveda products so I always visit salons that use them. I am thinking of buying some of their shampoo and conditioner when I am out of my current Redken Color Extend which I am NOT enjoying. I also found out today that it (Redken) is not a sulfate free shampoo. That may have something to do with the mystery of my disappearing hair color. More on that topic later. I’m sure you are probably tired of me talking about that  but I’m bound and detirmined to find out why my hair color has not been lasting.

Anyway, after my hair trim, I went to lunch at Panera Bread and had a bowl of mac and cheese and the roasted turkey artichoke on asiago focaccia hot panini! It was quite tasty. After lunch I ran some errands and made a quick trip to Target to look at the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter lipsticks. I had heard negative things about these at first but recently the reviews have been more positive. I was also still interested in the new Maybelline SuperStay 14 Hour Lipstick even after not being too impressed last weekend while looking at them. I ended up finding a shade that I loved in both products…

Maybelline SuperStay 14 Hour Lipstick "Pout On Pink"

“Pout On Pink” is a beautiful matte coral pink shade which I know I will be wearing frequently!

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter "Creamsicle"

I had looked at the selection of these lip butters before and never saw this color initially. I LOVE IT! We will see if it ends up being drying like some people have said. When applied, this shade is a subtle peachy nude color. The swatch makes it look shimmery and gold which it isn’t. It reminds me a bit of a deluded MAC “Underage” lipglass.

I consider these items splurges since I’m trying not to spend too much money. It didn’t end there though. I had been looking at these blank notebooks at J. Crew for awhile and ended up getting 2. I don’t know what I’m going to use the pink one for yet, but they will look cute on my desk.

Any thoughts on any of these items?

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

