Tags

Water stained bottles from my shower!!

Naturally my hair is thick, fairly straight, oily and fine in texture. As for color it’s dark brown with some auburn highlights. I always use a volumizing shampoo to give it extra body, especially around the crown where it tends to get flat and oily much to my dismay. I’ve always colored my hair and it’s pretty much been every color under the sun! A few years ago I decided to let it all grow out so I could see my natural color. After I accomplished that and enjoyed the natural shade for awhile, I noticed that without the hair dye present, much of the desired body was gone. Hair color adds extra texture and volume to your hair which is great if you have oily and fine hair like me. I figured it was time to crack open a new box of hair color! I tend to get bored and like to try new looks quite often anyway.

I started coloring my hair dark burgundy brown back in August of this year and began my mission to find a great shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair that also adds body. Previously when I had colored hair I would always use shampoo and conditioner that stated it was for color treated hair. I assumed it was ok but as of recently I have heard a lot of chatter about shampoos that contain a chemical called sodium lauryl sulfate. This chemical is what makes shampoos “foam”. Supposedly, this is also the chemical that strips color from your hair. I began looking at the ingredients in many shampoos that state they are for color treated hair, and to my surprise most of them contain this chemical or a form of it. Confused and annoyed I asked a stylist at Ulta who gave me his take on the whole issue. He told me to buy a shampoo for color treated hair without sodium lauryl sulfate and not to worry too much about the volumizing factor as that can be tackled with products after shampooing. He reccomended several shampoos that didn’t have sodium lauryl sulfate but various other chemicals that sounded similar to it. He told me this was fine and not to worry as long as sodium lauryl sulfate was not present.

Several of the brands that he showed me landed on my mental “to try” list.  I ended up with Redken Color Extend Shampoo and Conditioner. I have been using it for about 2 weeks now and so far it’s pretty good. I freshly colored my hair last weekend so we will see how it holds up with this product! Previously I was using L’Oreal Everpure Sulfate-Free Shampoo and Conditioner (volumizing for color treated hair). For a drugstore shampoo this was a great product. It delivered excellent volume, lasting freshness and had a wonderful yet strong scent very similar to the aroma of Aveda products. Why would I want to try something else you are probably asking? The wonderful smell of this shampoo was a bit too strong. I loved it at first but then wanted something a bit less fragrant and higher end. The Redken has a very subtle scent and foams up well. I have noticed that I can smell my second day hair (as gross as that is) since I have been using it which is most likely because the scent of the shampoo itself is so subtle. This isn’t too much of an issue since I wash my hair every other day so it doesn’t get too dirty. I will probably come to a final conclusion at some point soon if I will buy this shampoo and conditioner again. Like I said, it’s ok. I’m not jumping up and down about it. If it was volumizing, I would probably be happier since I prefer that to be built into my shampoo vs. having to fuss with too many products post shampoo.

What is your favorite shampoo and conditioner?

Images © cosmetic journey…in the city 2011-2012

