I have always been a collector. If there is something that I like, I end up with a collection. The makeup obsession stared slowly, then turned into something massive. I started wearing makeup when I was about 11. At this point I had a few eyeshadows, lipglosses and a bottle of Covergirl foundation, but I didn’t use these items heavily or on a regular basis. My best friend and I discovered the joy of shopping around the same age. We started our small collections of perfume and lipsticks and glosses. My first memorable lipstick was by Maybelline from their “Shinefree” line. The color was the most beautiful peachy pink coral called “Jumbo Shrimp”. Around this time my obsession with the color coral began! To this day, coral remains my favorite shade!

In 7th grade when I was 12, I was wearing a touch of mascara, eyeliner, powder and lipgloss. This was also the time when girls started carrying purses to school. Most of us had a Covergirl powder compact and a random lipstick in our purse. In 8th grade I decided I didn’t want to carry a purse so I would keep my powder compact in the front pocket of my jeans and a lipstick in the other pocket.

High School was when I really started slapping the makeup on. I kept my growing, yet still modest collection in a Caboodle and really focused on mascara and eyeliner. At this time I realized I could not by any means live without black eyeliner. My collection consisted of about 7 lipsticks, 3 blushes, a few eyeshadows, 1 tube of mascara and 1 eyeliner. I dreaded anyone at school seeing me without eyeliner at this point. I knew I looked different without it.

College was pretty much the same story. I would apply my makeup a bit heavier but my collection still remained fairly simple. I felt no need to have more than a handful of shadows, blushes ect. All the while makeup was my obsession. I loved it. I would always receive compliments on my flawless application and was the “go to” makeup person among my friends. I would always focus on my makeup rather than hair in the mornings in high school and college.

The point where I went nuts came in 2007. I discovered the YouTube beauty community and that was the beginning of the end. My love of cosmetics turned into a full fledged obsession. I am easily sold especially while watching reviews and tutorials online. I love seeing other people’s collections, favorite items, daily makeup routines and thoughts on products. I realized I don’t need to have only a few blushes or shadows, why not have a load of makeup? I use it every day so it’s not going to waste. The only products I don’t like to have more than 2 of are mascara and foundation. Mascara gets dry and foundation can get a bit funky after awhile.

I love discovering new brands of makeup. There are so many that I have yet to try and can’t wait to get my hands on! I will always be a makeup junkie and will continue to update and change my look as time goes on. The options are endless!

~Chelle

